h1

Countdown to Disaster

July 2, 2008

JLY and I have been writing at a break-neck speed to meet our 7/7/08 deadline for finishing SFA. We’ve finished writing Chapter 10 and Chapter 11, which is currently titled Final Examinations. We’ve started on Chapter 12, and we’re making good progress on it. I think we’ve actually got good odds of finishing by the deadline. I’m pretty optimistic, even though I recently discovered that the document we use to keep track of our time line for what we need to write is titled “Countdown to Disaster.doc”– clearly JLY has tons of faith in our ability to write quickly =P (Alternate nicknames for it include “The Time Line of Doom”…)

Yet, somehow, we’re writing and writing and almost done. And, it’s actually been a lot of fun. One of the many great things about writing the final chapters is that the story is falling into place much more easily than I would have expected. Even JLY and I had forgotten some of the elements that we’d purposely set in place earlier in the story, and when we rediscover them, we’re usually delighted. Now it’s just a matter of tying it all together and not being lazy– and by that, I mean pushing ourselves to make every scene interesting, fun, and exciting. Which I think we’ve managed to do lately, hopefully, even though we’re writing at such a frantic pace. Well, not too much time left, and we’ve still got the biggest scenes to tackle, so wish us luck!

KL

Leave a comment